Latest News

2019 Winners announced!

The Oceanic Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards were held virtually on Thursday 28 May 2020, taking the opportunity in the midst of COVID-19 to still recognise the achievements of professionals in our industry.

The award recipients were announced by SSSI President, Zaffar Sadiq Mohamed-Ghouse and SIBA|GITA Chair Daniel Harvey via Zoom, with winners and supporters joining from across the country and the world.

The proud and deserving winners of the SSSI individual awards were:

Professional of the Year – Craig Sandy
Young Professional of the Year – Melissa Harrington
Women’s Leadership Award – Highly Commended: Eva Rodrieguez Rodrieguez Winner: Dr Charity Mundava
Undergraduate of the Year – Highly Commended: Andrew Campbell Winner: Kent Olive
Postgraduate of the Year – Dr Mehdi Khaki
Educational Development Award – Prof Stephan Winter and Michael Neitschke
Professional Eminence Award – Chris Body
President’s Award – SSSI National Young Professionals Committee

SIBA|GITA’s industry award winners were:

Environment and Sustainability Award – Spatial Vision
Export Award – Spatial Vision, FrontierSI & General Commission of Survey, KSA
Innovation & Commercialisation Award – Trimble Inc
People & Community Award – FrontierSI and QUT
Spatial Enablement Award and JK Barrie Award – Australian Cancer Atlas
Technical Excellence Award – Land Surveys, FAL Team
SIBA|GITA Chair’s Award – Narelle Underwood
Click here for more details on the APSEA winners.

You can view the full winners and citations on our winners page